WK 7600 sustain pedal settings - strings, organs etc.

Hi everybody,

I am totally new to Casio keyboards, so this may sound as a bit silly question, but I can't find the solution anywhere - how can I adjust the time the sustain pedal holds the tone? Mainly the strings and organs literally never fade, which makes it almost unusable. Why would anyone want to hold the tone forever? It makes the song all blurry.

Can you please help me?

There is no way to adjust how long a sound will sustain.

However, you can use the susteneto option (in the Function menu) to change it from Sustaint to Susteneto. Whatever note you're holding at the moment continues to be held as long as you hold down the pedal, but all other notes after that have no sustain on them.

• 2 weeks later...

In real life, an organ's tones do not "fade" like a piano tone.  They are at a constant level as long as the key is held down and stop abruptly as soon as the key is released.  A music keyboard just emulates that.  The sustain pedal just simulates you holding the key or keys down, so you get the cacaphony that you describe.  For the most part, strings are similar.  Their output is constant as long as the bow is moved across the strings.  Wind instrument output is constant as long as the player blows into it.  None of these devices have outputs that "fade" like a piano tone, and these tones on music keyboards were not intended to be used with the sustain pedal.  The sustain pedal is intended to be used with "hammered" tones (piano, harpsichord, clavi, dulcimer, etc) or "plucked" tones (guitar, harp, etc) that have a natural "fade".  If you really want to use the sustain pedal with other types of tones, then Randelph's suggestion is best, if your keyboard's pedal has the sustain/sostenuto option.