Video Files on Forum ×

The virtue of less-than-perfect sounds

lodger

I wanted to share an idea and see if anyone else had the same experience

as a musician, i've worked on a lot of different projects using a wide variety of tools. However, something that always strikes me is that  working with the most rudimentry tools  produces some of the most interesting, engaging, and satisfying results,

Over the last few weeks, i've locked myself into using only cheap old casios and one old common-as-dirt yamaha synth and am floored at how well my music has turned out, likewise the extent that i've been able to focus on my work. A part of me attributes this to the fact that you are limited to the extent that you can get distracted in tweaking your sounds...it really makes you rely more on composition to make things sound good.

In this day and age where multi gigabyte sound libraries can give you false positives that you sound better than you do, the rugged, grainy, and imperfect sounds of cheap gear are often the most truthful and accurate tools you can hope to have.

my opinion, anyway :D

• Like 2

I totally agree. And it's also a similar philosophy with regards to a lot of bands sounding better 'live' than they do on a recording. When playing live, many other random variables come into play, and it is these imperfections that can add to the character of the overall sound. Totally electronic music maybe less so as much is sequenced and/ or relies on perfect synchronisation to give that machine like feel. Furthermore, some random elements have been the trigger for inspiring song writing and arrangements when bands have been in a recording studio. I was recently reading about the Human League recording 'Don't you want me', and in the chorus there is this underlying rhythmic sequence that comes in on an off beat. This was discovered when the sequencer malfunctioned and brought that particular sequence in late: