God! where to start?

rockitman

Just got my new P1 and have it hooked up but this thing is NOT as easy as people have claimed it to be.   I am new to synths and had hoped that this board would give me some sounds I need for the music we play in my band.

I will give an example,   we like playing The Cars.   The song  "Let's Go"  has a cool synth in the beginning and I can't find anything on this board that is close.   I do not understand the difference between the Tone presets and the Performance presets,  nor the difference between Solo Synth and Hex Layer.   

I love the freaky sounds this thing makes but I am so frustrated with trying to learn this board,  the manual just makes me go  "Huh?"

And what the heck is Sequencing??   

Just take it one step at a time. Start by watching the videos and following along with your P1.. you will get up to speed real quick that way.

So the definitions:

Performances are combinations of tones (sounds) and  drum/bass/chord patterns (sequences) and other functions (phrases and arpeggios (rapid notes).

Tones are a singles sound like piano, strings, brass.. You combine tones and patterns to make a performance.

Solo synth is a big, fat synth sound that usually is monophonic, meaning you can only play one note at a time.

A hex layer is 6  tones stacked or layered on the keyboard. For example piano and strings and brass all combines to make one big tone.

Again, don't be overwhelmed. Watch the videos and read the blogs. Ask questions when you get stuck - we are here to help.. here's the links:

Videos:
https://www.youtube.com/user/casiokeyboards

Blog:
http://http://xwsynth.wordpress.com/

Facebook Group:
https://www.facebook.com/groups/Casio.XW.Synths/

• Like 2

There's a learning curve with any professional keyboard.

Everyone agrees that the manual sucks.  That's why we created this forum.

A good place to get started on your journey is with the XW FAQ posting.