New XW-P1

florent

Hi everybody,

I've just received my P1. I was first tempted by a CTK-7200 but after some readings on the internet, the P1 corresponded me more, I've been toying around with PureData a it seems that the P1 is the good hardware complement ;).

I'm not an experimented musician. I've played organ and piano as a teenager but left that for other occupations afterwards. I have some background in electronics and signal processing so it seemed logical to get a synth.

And by the way (since there are topics about that), I'm a Linux user ...

Regards,

--

Florent

• Like 1

Hello florent. Check out some of happyrat's posts (and mine) on Linux. He pointed me toward KXStudio (a Ubuntu distro strictly for music) and I dual-boot Windows and Linux on all my machines, specifically Puppy Slacko although that distro has limited musical apps, KXStudio is much more comprehensive.

And the P1-whew! This thing is scary-phrases. arpeggios, sequencer, hex layers, performances.  One can create entire arrangements or songs with just parts of what this can do. And this forum has a very detailed faq compiled by Happyrat and others here. Don't worry about the manual-if you need to know how to do just about anything with the XW-P1, it will be in the XW

faq postings.

Hi Florent!!!

Always good to see another Linux user.  KXstudio is definitely the way to go for Linux multimedia production.

As for the XW-P1?  Good choice.  Incredibly flexible little synth.  Sort of a Swiss army knife of keyboards.  It's not the only synth I use but I rely on it extensively in my creations.

Definitely take an hour or two and browse thru the FAQ Thread Links here in the XW section of the board.  It will answer questions you didn't know you had.

Also check out Mike Martin's tutorial videos on youtube, all linked in the FAQ.