Video Files on Forum ×

CDP-230R as a MIDI controller to Garageband?

Ashi20

Hi,
I have recently bought a CDP-230R piano. I hooked it up with my Macbook pro via USB and was able to play software instruments in Apple Garageband successfully. I was wondering can I use CDP-230R's stop/play/FF/Rewind buttons or sustain pedal as a MIDI controller to control Garageband's transport control? I have no previous experience in MIDI, so I couldn't understand the MIDI implementation chart included in the manual. I attached the chart here. Any help on this subject would be appreciated. Thank you in advance.

post-6163-0-38710700-1445284634_thumb.jp

According to the chart-this would indicate that the CDP230 will send and receive "hold", "soft" or "sustenuto" messages via midi according to your sustain pedal position, but not transport controls. I am not familiar with Garageband, but most software is designed with specific "control change" numbers already assigned to specific functions that can be controlled by an external midi keyboard (or other midi device) providing the midi device is designed to transmit those "control change" numbers. The "0" in the chart indicates that, the "X" means it won't.