Video Files on Forum ×

Notes lost occasionally

sim1969

Hi.

I own an xw-p1 since 2014, I like it a lot, even though I'm not a musician and I'm an ultra newbie to synths.

Since the last year, occasionally happens the following thing: while playing, a note drop. I mean: I push the key, and the sound doesn't come out, if single, or one of the sound of the zone doesn't come out, as if I reached the polyphony limit. When this happens, if I use a sequencer's pattern, some notes of the drums disappear or are "chopped".

Usually, when this happens, I reboot the xw-p1, and the problem disappears. Usually, but not always, the problem arises soon as I use the xw-p1.

I think - but I've got no statistics - that it happens more often when I use directly an hex layer tone or a drawbar tone and  the sequencer. But sometimes even with a performance.

The strange thing is that is not predictable. I can use the xw-p1 heavily for hours and the problem doesn't arise. Sometimes, I turn on the xw-p1 and the problem is there straight away. I reboot, and the problem disappears, even with the same patch as before.

It seems, but i'm not sure, that this problem is very less heavy if I use the synth everyday (as I should do!). If I left the xw-p1 off for some time (one ore two weeks), it seems that it's more prone to the problem. Has the xw-p1 a backup battery, like the pc motherboards?

I have firmware 1.11. Since the problem arose the first time, I re-initialized the xw-p1 two or three times.

I attach the current configuration of my keyboard, if someone would like to check it for a solution or an answer.

Thanks a lot in advance, and forgive my not so clear and succint english.

Have a nice day.

Sim

XW-P1_180408.ZAL

I had a sort of similar incidence with my G1, where it sometimes somewhat randomly 'lost' a block of notes on the keyboard. Always the same block too.