Video Files on Forum ×

How do I send sysex messages to Midi Solutions Pedal Controller?

SeptemberMusic

Hi!

I have recently gotten myself a Px5s (yey!). Awesome sounds, awesome feel, awesome tweakability. 

I'm a noob when it comes to sysex and deep midi programming so I probably don't even use the right terms but:

The Midi solutions pedal is configured by sending sysex messages to it, for example I can choose on which midi channels it transmits expression. So I'm wondering if there is a way to send these sysex commands/strings/messages from my Px5s to the Midi Solutions pedal when I change stage setting? Is it possible by using phrases? Or can Zones transmit these messages automatically when changing stage settings?

Thank you in advance! 

• 1 month later...

SeptemberMusic,

I'll build a little bit off of what AlenK posted.

Sysex messages are often instrument specific.  That means there can be specific messages for the PX-5s and specific messages for the Midi solutions pedal.  There are also universal real time sysex messages that all machines should understand.  The PX-5S will transfer these when you do things like adust the midi settings.  For example, if I go into the sys settings > Sound Generator > Master Volume on the PX and adjust the master volume to 126, the following sysex message is transmitted on the spot:

F0 7F 7F 04 01 00 7E F7

You are limited to only a few universal sysex messages.  Volume, Course Tune, Fine Tune, Reverb, Chorus, and modulation.