Video Files on Forum ×

LK-280 Error "No File" when importing MIDI file

Bev

Hello,

I purchased a Casio LK-280 for the purpose of downloading MIDI files (I'm new to this) so I can learn new songs with the lighted keyboard. I just formatted the SD Card on the keyboard (SanDisk 2GB) - no problem - said "complete" -- and then I transferred a mid file from my MAC into the MUSICDAT file that's on the Card. When I insert the card into the keyboard and follow the instructions in manual to a "T" - l, I get a "No File" error message. Has anyone had this experience? When I checked the trouble shooting section in the manual the only explanation is that there was no MUSICDAT file. But that's not the case here. Any suggestions are greatly appreciated!  

Hi Bev!

Welcome to the Casio Music Forums and to the exciting world of the LK-280!

Re-insert the SD Card into the MAC and use the MAC's file manager to verify that the file is, in fact, in the MUSICDAT folder.  This may sound over-simplified and redundant, but believe me, misdirected file transfers are the number one cause of the "No file" error message.

Also, with the MAC's file manager, verify the file extension.  It must be .mid (only).  Extensions of .midi or .smf, or anything else, will not be recognized.

Can you play the file with the MAC's MIDI file player?  If it is corrupt, the LK-280 will not recognize it.

The LK-280 does not actually play a MIDI file "directly" from the SD Card.  Instead, it first loads the file into a temporary area in internal memory, and then "plays" it from there.  I read, just within the past few days, that the size of that memory area is something a little less than 4Kb (something like 3998Kb).  Files larger than this can not be loaded, so will not be recognized.  So far, I have not been able to verify this figure, so can not state for certain whether this could be a problem, but it may be worth checking as just a consideration.