Video Files on Forum ×

Playing with sounds from a purchased library

SteveK

I am a relative beginner.  I am really enjoying my CGP-700 that I've had for five years.  I sometimes got to real brick and mortar music stores and check out other keyboards but I always learn that I like the way the CGP-700 feels.  I guess I'm just used to it, but that is to say that I want to keep my CGP.  I also have found plenty of CGP sounds that I like, including the standard 01 Grand Piano sound, and a lot of the electronic piano sounds.

I have laptop running linux mint and an external monitor next to the keyboard so that I watch youtube lessons and learn stuff.   (Also a big fan of musescore and recently paid for a year of access to their library of music, and to support the free musescore notation program.)

I have the 1/8" audio headphone output of the old linux laptop plugged into the external input on the back side of the CGP so that I can hear the youtube lessons playing from the CGP's speakers, mixed in with my sounds generated by the CGP.

I've watched some youtubes about sound libraries.  There is a product out there called Keyscape that appears to have really great acoustic piano sounds.  It's not cheap but it seems it would be a significant upgrade to the CGP piano sounds (although as I mention I do find the standard CGP grand piano sound very pleasant).   

Do any of you guys use external sounds and what does it require to get them working?   I assume I take a MIDI output from CGP's USB port and put it into the laptop.  And have the laptop loaded with the Keyscape sounds.   Not sure what software I need to run.  My experience with Linux audio is that it can be tricky.  Do any of you guys do this?

And does the CGP have the degree of midi output that would allow me to hear the expressiveness of the Keyscape sound libraries?

• Like 2