Video Files on Forum ×

Help with recording to laptop (newbie)

Fifty Fifty
Go to solution Solved by Brad Saucier,

Hi i am wanting to record songs i have recorded and stored in my keyboard (CX700) to my laptop for use in a DAW. I do not want to use MIDI. 

My understanding is that i have to buy an audio interface to do this. I had my eye on a  Behringer U-Control UCA222 which is cheap and should do the job. However a sales representative is trying to steer me towards a WAY more expensive option the IK Multimedia iRig Pro I/O . The confusion i am having seems to be with the cords/leads needed to connect to the audio interface and to the computer. The Behringer has RCA inputs but can't i just use an adaptor of some sort? Why do i need this expensive option?

So just to be clear.

What leads/adaptors do i need to connect my computer to my keyboard using a Behringer U-Control UCA222  audio interface?

I'm using a HP Spectre laptop.

Any help appreciated i am new at this and it's doing my head in!

I have a UCA222 and it's a good little device. You can download an ASIO driver (details with the UCA) for low latency recording (that is, with a very low delay recording and playing back) which you'll want to use with DAW software.

• Like 1

On 11/3/2021 at 10:44 AM, Brad Saucier said:

CT-X700 audio out is the 1/4 inch stereo headphone jack.  You'll need a cable with a 1/4 inch TRS plug one one end, and the other end 2 RCA plugs to fit the UCA222.  You might also want to check your laptop.  Some of them come with mic/line inputs that can work well for audio recording.  

Thanks so much for your help! I think i understand now more clearly. Again,thank you so much!

On 11/3/2021 at 9:55 PM, IanB said:

I have a UCA222 and it's a good little device. You can download an ASIO driver (details with the UCA) for low latency recording (that is, with a very low delay recording and playing back) which you'll want to use with DAW software.

Thank you! That's very helpful.

• Like 1