Video Files on Forum ×

Octave Shift

drnorm1

If you could demonstrate your solution in a cook book manner, I may be able to make it so. Although I am a jazz musician, the keyboard is very complex and hard for me to manage beyond playing the stage settings. I want to be able to set this octave so I can click on it from the piano mode. I am playing Sir Duke and want to play the instrumental part with an octave using one note.

An octave piano tone is in the tone presets, if you want to use that.  If you are already on Stage Setting 0-0 concert grand, press the piano tone category button and using the plus and minus buttons to scroll through to 014 Octave Piano.  That's the easiest way to get there. 

Personally, I might put a second concert grand piano in zone 2 and octave shift that second zone, then setup a slider to enable and disable zone 2.  This way you have both options in one stage setting and quick access to both.  We'll take it one step at a time if that's what you want to do.  

Hi Brad,

Thanks for the info on getting to the double octave. However, is there a way to get there quickly from another stage setting? I use the concert grand stage setting and need to, "on a dime" so I can shift to double octave for the bridge and back again to the main song.

Hi Brad,

I am responding to your solution you provided in a previous email. You stated:

"Personally, I might put a second concert grand piano in zone 2 and octave shift that second zone, then setup a slider to enable and disable zone 2.  This way you have both options in one stage setting and quick access to both.  We'll take it one step at a time if that's what you want to do."

How would I accomplish this task? Also, does the double octave apply to other stage settings, i.e., guitar? 

The PX-5S is highly customizable, so you can create a setup for octave piano and reach for it several different ways. These options only apply to a particular stage setting.