Video Files on Forum ×

Phrase cutoff not retained in performance

sim1969

Hi to everybody.

I'm not a synth expert at all, but I own (and like) an xw-p1 since 2014 (except two years).

I was trying to make a performance for Depeche Mode Enjoy The Silence. I did the following:

- I did an user hex layer with the bass on the lower part of keyboard and the rest of voices on the upper part, obviously each part with a distinct range;

- for the bass I choosed the wave number 751 (Sy_TB_Bass1);

- I did a phrase for the bass line; on this phrase I recorded also variations on the cutoff frequency, to emulate the bass in the real song.

- Using the phrase in Tone mode, with the hex layer patch I created, all work as expected (the cutoff of the bassline changes as recorded in the phrase);

Then I started a new performance. On zone 1 - as required - I put my hex layer, with phrase activated on this zone. Then I set up the phrase sequencer for the performance to be active only on the lower range of keyboard (the same range of the bass line in hex layer). I choosed then the phrase I created. for the performance; the phrase plays the line I recorded, but discards the cutoff variations I recorded with the phrase.

If I go back to Tone mode, I select the hex layer I created, I select the phrase I created and play it, all works: the cutoff variations are there.

Why what works in tone mode, doesn't work in performance mode? Am I doing something wrong?

Thanks a lot for your support.

Sim

Edited by sim1969

Maybe Brad or Mike might have a better answer but I'll try....