Video Files on Forum ×

Keybed and successive single notes.

XW-Addict

So I'm no piano expert and since I've taken lessons since a year ago and had lesson on upright piano's. I have to say the weighted keys feel weighted not in the same sense on the real piano's I'm playing lessons at but weighted. As a stage piano the keys presses different when I press one note it presses way down in one go which I don't have on the lesson piano's.

Whats also different is the response when I press successive single notes, I am not an experienced piano player but If I compare playing successive single notes on the uprights and the PX5 i'm having more trouble doing it feels more sluggish while the lesson piano's seem to response quiet well, this bothered me thinking the PX5 I have has a defective keybed. The keys of the PX5 feels heavy more then the lesson piano's I cant place them if their weight more grand piano  style or some piano I don't know off.

Can someone enlighten me about this appreciate it. 

The first thing I'd do is edit the Stage Setting - Common - Hammer Response and set it to zero.  That introduces a lag between the actual keypress and the sounding of the tone.  It's supposed to emulate the behavior of a real piano as the hammer takes time to move from rest position to the string.  I'm not really a big fan of it, although I understand why they put it there.

What I am a big fan of, however, is the three-sensor keybed.  Because of the extra sensor, they can do stuff like High-Res MIDI output (I'm also not a big fan of that) or, more importantly, restrike a key from a non-rest position.  That last part is cool!  In a good grand piano, the mechanism is designed to let you restrike a single note rapidly by not letting the hammer return to rest position.  The extra sensor in the PX-5S lets you do the same thing and it works.  I've noticed a big difference between this board and previous weighted ones in repeating a note.