Video Files on Forum ×

Low volume Wav recording, GP400

Eli26

When recording as a WAV file onto a USB thumbdrive, the recording is EXTEMELY low in volume.  I had the volume parameter adjusted to the max (127), and teh keyboard setting was on normal (I'm not sure if that would matter whether it was on Normal, Heavy, or Light, but I actually tried it on Light and normal and had the same issue both ways).  Now, when I playback the recording through the GP400 speakers or headphones, the volume is fine.  But when I export the file it is EXTREMELY quiet. so much so that to hear it my laptop needs to have the volume on max (and eveen then it's a low volume).  Emailed it to my dad and he cold barely hear it.   This happened multiple times so it's not a onetime glitch.  How low are the recordings?  To make them listenable, I used audacity on my laptop to boost the volume.  The files needs about 20 decibels boost!!  (I am not a sound engineer and I didn't measure max peaks or stuff like that).    That seems broken, so much so that if there is no setting to adjust it, it seems like there is something wrong with the internal system that creates the settings on the file. 

Can somebody perhaps help me learn how to make a file with normal volume?

It is normal.  Casio has done it this way on many different products over the years.  The reason is to provide extra headroom that prevents clipping whenever the dynamic range reaches maximum.  Keep in mind the GP-400 has 256 note polyphony.  That is a lot of dynamic range, from just 1 note to 256, all at once.  That can get quite loud. The alternative would have been an internal limiter to prevent clipping. I'm glad they did not do that and left the full dynamic range intact. And yes, Audacity is the typical way we normalize recordings made on our Casio pianos.