Video Files on Forum ×

General questions about tone types and dsp etc

I am new to keyboards in general and I'm having a difficult time figuring out some of the features.  A little background - I have played piano before and own an acoustic piano but I wanted to start playing again after many years. I purchased a preowned Casio WK 3000 and I'm trying to learn how to get the most out of it with my limited experience with digital keyboards.  I've watched some youtube videos of other casio models and also I've studied the user manual.  What is the difference between preset tones, GM tones and synth pad tones1? What is DSP and how do I use it? Is there a way to use auto accompaniment without the drum sections automatically coming on?  I don't always need rhythm but I like the fullness and arpeggios that auto accompaniment adds when I use fingered chords and full range chord features.  I realize these are very basic but any help will be appreciated.  Thanks.

Welcome to the forums!  Let's get to right to it.....

Preset Tones - All tones that are preprogrammed from the factory.  User tones are not preset tones.

GM Tones - General MIDI tones.  Tones that adhere to the GM specification for use with MIDI files or other MIDI devices.

Synth Pad Tones 1 - Pad category of synthesizer tones.  Soft warm tones often used as an underlying layer of sound, padding the sound.  

DSP - Digital Signal Processing.  DSP creates effects like delays, distortion, EQ and more.  DSP is an effect that is preset for certain tones or can be used when creating your own user tones.

You can turn off the drum tracks using the mixer.  The WK-3000 manual will have instructions on using the mixer to turn off the drum parts.  

Hope this helps.