Video Files on Forum ×

Connecting to Mono Keyboard Amp

Bramley Studio

I’d be very grateful for any advice from the knowledgeable group on this forum on the following issue, of which I have little experience.
I require a grand piano sound to be sent from the PX-560 to a Mono Keyboard Amp. I was wondering what players have found to be the best option.
1.    Sum the two output channels at the piano and run one cable from the L/Mono Out to the Keyboard Amp.
2.    Run two cables from the piano to the Keybaord Amp and let the amp do the ‘summing’
3.    Choose a ‘Mono Piano’ sound from the PX-560 bank and run that to the Keyboard Amp.
I find it difficult to assess which is the better ‘sound wise’, because it takes time to change between different set-ups and therefore makes comparison tricky and I would welcome suggestions as to which option sounds best in your view.
One other question. Do players find that having the PX-560’s own speakers OFF or ON make any difference to the sound coming from the Mono Keyboard Amp – as suggested in the User Manual p11?
Many thanks in advance for any observations.

I must say I haven't tried all your scenarios, but I don't think there is much sense in trying #2 (additional unnecessary cable). About #3 , even if you pick a mono tone I think you could still have some effects which produce stereo sound, or for instance if you want to layer the piano with something else or use a rhythm. Anyway, even if you do pick a mono sound, you still have to choose between #1 and #2, don't you? The only case where choosing a mono sound would make a difference is if you used the R (not mono) output, right? That wouldn't make sense to me. Unless you have two mono amps, but that's not your case apparently.

Long story short: use L/Mono as that's exactly what it is for.