Video Files on Forum ×

Playing with a drum track?

CalebBX

I want to be able to have a way to play piano being acompanied by a midi drum track created in another software. I am completely new to keyboards in general so i am going to need specific instructions or a link to specific intructions. The drum track should be triggered by pressing a certain key and i would like to play another instrument along with the drum track. I dont know if i have to make a setting for this or what. I dont even know how to play a phrase. Could someone please help me.

@CableBX

Hello,

Depending on what you are trying to do:  Are you talking about creating or building a MIDI file of  a drum track and having the PX-5s play it on-board using the Px-5s drum sounds?  Are you talking about the scenario Scott suggested where you are sending drum information from the PX-5s to an external source and having the external source play the drum sounds?

There are many ways the Px-5s can be used to play along with a drum track.  Since you say you are completely new to keyboards, you may not be familiar with MIDI.  In short, MIDI allows electronic instruments and devices to talk to each other.  Check out this basic guide, it should get you up and running conceptually so you may know better what you actually want to happen:

http://tweakheadz.com/how-to-get-started-with-midi-and-the-difference-between-midi-and-audio-is-explained-along-with-many-other-core-concepts-for-building-a-home-recording-studio/

Back to the PX-5s specifically: the PX-5s has several drum kits on board.  You can have the Px5s play "phrases".  These are patterns that play back MIDI data.  Phrases can play back music, drums, controller information, just about any midi data.  If you create drum patterns, they can be looped or chained in different ways, or triggered when playing the keyboard, using pedals, or pressing start/stop.