Video Files on Forum ×

PX560 as MIDI master to another keyboard

Gaurav

Hello! 

I wish to use my PX560 as a midi master to my Korg PA1000. My objective is to enjoy the keys of my PX560 & sound/functionality of PA1000. Is this possible? How set it up? 

I am new to MIDI world hence I have no knowledge about it. 

Any guidance will be helpful. 

Cheers! 

Gaurav

OK, dummy me got the Korg to use the PX560 as a controller.  I had my headphones plugged into the Casio and not the Korg (midi cables don't transfer audio).....D'oh!  As an alternate, I'm using a  3.5mm male to male between Korg headphone jack and audio in on back of PX560 so the Korg sounds thru the PX560's speakers.  Only additional thing you have to do is turn off local control on the PX560 midi menu so the Casio sound engine will be disabled.  However, if you want to record your results with the PX560 audio recorder you will have to use 1/4" mono left & right (2 cables) for line out on the Korg to line in on the PX560.  You cannot use the audio recorder with the PX560 audio in (3.5mm).  See manual pages EN-10 & EN-11 for further clarification.

I´m not a 560M-user yet, but I already have it in my shopping Card. Not 100% sure, If I get it, since I want to be able to use it as a controller, too.

On ‎5‎/‎22‎/‎2019 at 9:22 PM, Brad Saucier said:

PX-560 works just fine as a MIDI controller for basic things.  The PX-5S adds more options of course.  

Ok, just for clarification for a n00b like me: :)

What aree the Basic things?

Playing external sources (Mac with VSTi sample libraries/midi expanders)?

Program Change (in hex layer mode, too)?

Registration change <=> program Change? 

Pitch Bend/Mod Wheel for external devices?

Internal mute per preset individually?

that´s the most I need and I think, These are basic things? Innit? :-)