Video Files on Forum ×

WK 7600 - Structure of file formats ( i.e. AC7, TN7, RM7, AL7 )

Hello guys,

I'm a software developer and I'd like to build a few applications that will extend the functionality of this fantastic keyboard even more.

For this I need to know the structure of the files mentioned in the title - that is, how the data in these files are physically stored and structured.

I already contacted the CASIO company and I'm waiting for their response, however I'm trying to seek the answer also among you in case CASIO will not want to share it with me.

Could you, please, point me to a right person, website, ... where can I get this info.

Thanks very much.

Marek

This is a tremendous idea, one that some of us have discussed-especially a software front-end that could translate between song or rhythm formats that are not now capable of doing that....however I don't think Casio will allow you to disassemble their proprietary code for any of the software. This website has some good development tools specifically for music hardware and software which might help along with the various midi implementation charts for specific Casios...

http://ctrlr.org/

This development website requires a good command of sysex and other midi programming but enables development of software programs for any of 3 platforms-Linux, Windows or Apple. What specifically are you thinking of developing? There are a few here that probably have the programming chops to help you, moreso than I can.

• Thanks 1

Hi Jokeyman,

it is exactly as you've said - CASIO responded that the file formats is internal information not available to the public.

I'm planning to develop a front-end for WK 7600 which would allow me to build the following functionality:

1) management of registration banks:

1.1 see reg. bank information - which rhythm, tones, settings is used for the particular reg. bank / slot

1.2 edit the slot info - play with different rhythms, tones, settings