Video Files on Forum ×

can I get this sound from my CGP700?

SteveK

here is a soulful electric piano with string pad.   Does anyone have any ideas how to make something close to this:  (of course I'm talking about the tone of the sound of the piano, not playing the notes.... hard for me as a beginner but I am working on it.)

also I am new to this..... I think "pad" means a layer, but I'm not sure.  l guess it is a string layer.

Layers are pretty easy to do in the CGP-700, easier than most keyboards. All you have to do is figure out which tones you want to layer and use them. It is limited to two sounds, but first find the electric piano you want to use, then the other sound. It's all accessible under the top left icon on the color touch display.

"Pad" generally means a sustaining sound that's used behind something else, whether that's in the keyboard or "the keyboard player was playing [horn or string or organ or…] pads behind the rest of the band."

• Like 1

Yes, I understand the concept of layers.  I'm wondering from the video I linked to what sounds on the CGP-700 could be combined to make the sound on the video?  I presume he is not playing a CGP-700 as it sounds very rich and thick, so maybe what I have cant ever match that but I could try to get close.   I've picked the Digital EP5 and GM Syn-Str2, with a 128/37 ratio.  

• 3 years later...
On 11/3/2019 at 9:09 PM, SteveK said:

here is a soulful electric piano with string pad.   Does anyone have any ideas how to make something close to this:  (of course I'm talking about the tone of the sound of the piano, not playing the notes.... hard for me as a beginner but I am working on it.)

also I am new to this..... I think "pad" means a layer, but I'm not sure.  l guess it is a string layer.

If its there layer GPno Mellow with Elec piano 3 , However this what I got on my PX5S , Slightly edit release and upped the brightness Ep 3.