Video Files on Forum ×

PX-5S velocity issue?

I have a PX-5S and really love it. I have discovered something about the keyboard velocities though that I am wondering if anyone else out there has experienced. It seems impossible to get the highest velocities out of the keyboard. Like in the range of about 115-127. Changing the velocity settings (light / normal / heavy) doesn't help. The only way I can actually send a velocity of 127 (to both the internal sounds AND the Midi outputs) is to set the velocity setting to 'OFF' and make the off velocity level 127. I am a professional pianist and the most I can get out of it is MAYBE about 122-124 and that's literally only if I slam my hands ridiculously hard onto it. Any normal type of heavy playing does not get above about 110 or so. Seems like something is wrong, or perhaps there is some other adjustment or setting I am missing? Thank you to anyone who might have some insight into this.

Internally, I know that the velocities are not reaching their maximum because of the sound of the patches. For example, if I have the basic 0-0 ConcertGrand patch loaded, and I send midi information from my DAW at velocity 127, I know how the piano sounds at that velocity level. It is not possible to create the same brighter sound from playing the PX keyboard. UNLESS I go into the system settings / general / touch and set that to 'off', then set the 'touch off velocity' to 127. Then every key I play will be at 127 and the patch sounds with the maximum velocity. When setting the touch back to light, normal or heavy, it is impossible to create the maximum 127 velocity sound on the patches.