Video Files on Forum ×

PX-330 midi question

Krypto

I’m new to using midi on my px-330.  So, I’m not sure how to describe my problem correctly.  But here goes…When I midi connect my px-330 to another keyboard (Korg Poly 61M) the only sound that is received is a piano sound.  When I make a preset change on the px-330 it still is the piano patch heard on the Korg.  It’s as if the px-330 only transmits the piano patch through midi.  Any feedback would be appreciated, thanks!

If you select from GM tones on the 330, that will transmit standard general MIDI patch change messages to the other device.

To select different sounds in the 330 through MIDI, it will need to receive the same messages.  For non GM tones, the 330 needs to receive specific messages as shown in the tone charts in the user manual/appendix. 

Obviously yoiu have the poly-61 with the midi interface upgrade-the originals (I had one of the first) did not have this. You need to know the specs of that interface-does it recognize midi in prgram change messages? Does it send midi program change messages out?  There are now a few different midi retrofit kits for the Poly 61, some allow reception and transmission of control changes, others don't. And, depending upon what is in your Poly-61, you may or may not be able to change midi channel assignments-might be hard-wired to send and receive only on midi channel 1. Do you know which interface is in yours, did you install it or did it come like this? 

Edited by Jokeyman123

Hey guys thank you for your help!!

Brad…I tried selecting various GM tones but unfortunately it had no effect.  Also, thanks for referring me to the tone charts! That’s how I figured which tones I was hearing and their program change values. (see below)

Jokeyman123…I purchased my Korg back in 87’ so I’m pretty sure it’s all original.  If you can recommend a retrofit kit, that would be great!