Video Files on Forum ×

External MIDI controller

Jamieh

Hi all, I am guitarist trying to help my girlfriend out with her PX-5s.

Is it possible to use an additional MIDI keyboard to extend the range of the zones available?
I want to set up a simple patch with string, brass and piano zones, but would like to put either strings or brass onto a separate external controller, giving her more range on the piano...

Sure, just turn off the zone which you prefer to control with an external controller.  That will stop the PX-5S keys from triggering sounds, but the sound engine will still respond to the external controller, and stage setting memory can still save and recall mixer settings for that zone.  Zones 1, 2, 3, 4 are MIDI channels 1, 2, 3, 4.  

Cool. Thanks. 
Forgive my ignorance, re MIDI, like I said, I’m a guitarist! 
Are you saying that I need to assign the controller to MIDI channel 4 (for example) in order to control Zone 4? 

What I want to achieve is the last two octaves on the main keyboard to be strings , have a brass ensemble sound from the external keyboard and the rest of the main keyboard be a straight piano sound. 

So it turns out the MIDI controller I have is a M-Audio Oxygen 25 and only has a USB socket, no MIDI. 

So this needs a printer type cable with USB 2.0 socket on the other end - which of course can plug into the USB 2.0 socket on the Casio, but I am not sure if that can be used as a MIDI controller? 
I’ve only used that socket before for a USB drive. 

Sorry I’ve taken a while to get to this, I’ve been very busy! 

I can’t figure out at all if this is even possible or what MIDI menu I need on the Casio to do anything!