Video Files on Forum ×

Casio PX 350 - Powering Up Issue

Sarwan

Hey folks,
         I'm facing an issue with my Casio PX 350. All of sudden today, it decide to no longer power on. Pressing the power-on key results in it only turning on momentarily (its screen goes white) and then it goes down black again in a flicker. I checked AC Adapter's output with a multi-meter, its shows a voltage of 11.94 - 12 V, which I guess should imply it doesn't have any issues. I opened up the Privia (It's out of warranty - I've had the keyboard for two years - and have fixed issues regarding dust over sensor keys,  and I'm an electrical engineering undergrad, so I'm comfortable around its insides) and checked it's power supply PCB for a bad solder on the input jack's bracket. Testing over its terminals on the PCB also showed a stable  11.94 - 12 V, so no issue there.

Beyond that I couldn't figure stuff out, or more honesty was just to sad/disappointed to work on it. (The piano was very personal to me, idk if that makes sense)

Can someone here help me out as to how do I about further debugging this issues? or someone who might have faced this issues. Is there any service manual available for the PX 350 or its power supply PCB that I could maybe study to figure out where the problem might lie? Any help would be appreciated.

My country doesn't have an third-party or even the official Casio repair services available, so sending it in for service isn't possible, and I lack the finances to get a new piano anytime soon.. so that's a major bummer. My only hope for now is to somehow resolve the issue with the aid of my few EE skills that maybe applicable.

Kind Regards,
Sarwan Shah

I don´t have my PX350 anymore but doing some research I see there is a hard reset or factory reset option that might help if the issue is related to software or an start  up issue.  They suggest to "Hold down the GMTones button and the Function Button simultaneously while powering up the unit."