Video Files on Forum ×

Tremolo when playing acoustic piano tones

Neil The Hat

Hi guys,

I have been enjoying my PX 560 for about 3 years usually doing jazz gigs.  However, a couple of months ago I started getting a tremolo effect when playing any piano tone.  The tremolo is only noticeable in a handful of notes around the C above middle C.   The Modulation wheel is definitely turned off (I previously experienced the Modulation wheel effect over the whole keyboard and spent 30 minutes discovering the problem).   The Tremolo appears whether using the piano's inbuilt speakers, an external PA system or even a good set of head phones.

Any  solution suggestions to remove this tremolo would be gratefully received.

Neil The Hat.

On 5/30/2021 at 11:49 PM, Brad Saucier said:

It is the modulation wheel.  If you don't use the mod wheel often, then it may become dirty and send erratic signals, even when simply sitting still.  Use the mod wheel some, give it a few spins to help self clean it.  That should help.

Thanks Brad for your suggestion.  Unfortunately using the wheel hasn't helped.  As Andrew suggested I assigned the wheel to a different task and nothing has changed.

Therefore I'm pretty confident it is not caused by the wheel.  

The Troubleshooting section of the Manual states "multiple digital samples are taken for the low range, middle range and high range, of the original musical instrument.  Because of this there may be a very slight difference in tonal quality and volume between sample ranges."   I'm inclined to think that this is what is causing the effect that I can hear.  When an acoustic piano is tuned, the three strings of a note need to vibrate at the same frequency.  If they are not spot on, it sounds as if the piano is slightly out of tune.  I think that is what is happening due to the original sampling process.  Not everybody will notice this but my hearing is particularly sensitive to it.